UNITY

I was raised in a township and so never realised that there are so many different religions or languages or castes or even that some are rich and some are not.
For Bhilai had only one religion and that was the Steel plant. Conversations of men usually revolved around ‘production’ and of women home issues. Children were too busy running around and teenagers trying to get an engineering or medical seat. ( all other professions were taboo)
We celebrated all festivals and it was so fun. I grew up eating avial, masala bhaath, sandesh and what not and never even realise that it was not konkani stuff.
But why this nostalgia now?
When I came down to Bahrain, it was with a hope that maybe I will be experiencing that same life again. Surely so far from our motherland, we will take pride in our Indianess. But alas no.

Go for any gatherings, the Gujjus will be in one group, the Malyalees on another and so on. I agree when two people with the same mother tongue get together, they are bound to speak in their language but please be considerate to the person next to you.
Any restaurant serving Indian food will showcase-North Indian food, SOuth Indian food and Kerala dishes. Isn’t Kerala a part of South India and ain’t South India and North India a part of India. ( I don’t see why they have to project their dishes as North Indian and South India, because all the curries do have the same taste).
When will we really unite or is it just a dream.

12 thoughts on “UNITY

  1. Indians are unity in diversity. With so many different cultures, languages and food habits; we’ve somehow isolated ourselves into groups. And, we hold strong feelings and stereotypes against certain groups. I have been brought up in big cities as well, and prefer a cosmopolitan way of living. You are right, it does get my goat when people shamelessly carry on talking in their own tongue knowing damn well that I cannot understand a single word.

    • Very true. We have isolated ourselves so much that know very few of us care who the ‘others’ are.
      Damn irritating na, when people yap in their dialect without caring that the others don’t understand.

  2. I haven’t experienced this. But I have see this people clinging to their groups, State wise, language wise etc. Yes, we must all feel we are Indians first.

  3. No point in bemoaning at this trait.We cannot change others.Let is mingle with all irrespective of groups.More will join if we converse interestingly and engagingly in a language widely understood like English or Hindi.

  4. First time here. Your post made a good first impression. Will visit again.

    You touched a nerve here. I have lived all my life in USA. I am of Tamilian origin. I have no idea why the following happened.

    Whenever I go to an India grocery store, the sales person starts to talk to me in Hindi. I reply that I don’t know Hindi. Then they start to talk to me in English.

    One person went further. She started in Hindi. I said I don’t know Hindi. She asked: Are you Indian? I said: I am of Indian origin. So, I am an Indian. She asked: Then how come you don’t know Hindi? I replied: I am an Indian. But not a Hindian.

    • I have had similar experiences here, whicheever shop we go to in Manama ( which is the main city in BAhrain) the counter people will start talking to us in Malyalam and when we say that we don’tknow the language will stare at us in amazement.
      But the question here is not just language, when will we override our feelings of language and really unite.

Leave a Reply

