Changing times

Each generation while raising the next feels that the times have changed, I feel the same every now and then.

While narrating the story of Hanuman leaping across the sea in search of Sita, I noticed the look of disbelief on the face of my son and realised that he is wondering why Hanuman had to do that whereas he can always take a plane. I had to explain to him that in those times there were no planes, nor were there mobile phones. It would have been so simple then isn’t it, Sri Ram could just pick up his mobile call Sita and ask, ‘Where are you?’

I remember when small putting a basket on the head and shouting ‘aloo pyaj le lo’, A playmate would then give me money and I would sell them aloo or pyaj. Tried to play the same game with him and he looked at me with a shocked expression. On my last visit to India, I showed him the roadside vendors and then he understood.

Similarly having never seen a postman / mail carrier, he doesn’t understand what a postman does. I guess on my next visit I have to show him what post means and what a postman does.

When we were small we used to start writing by writing on a slate with help of a chalk. Now slates seem to have disappeared, though I feel it was more eco-friendly. The amount of paper wasted in teaching a toddler to write is outrageous. Of course we can get a whiteboard. But I feel a child learns to grip, better with a chalk or a pencil than a pen.

My nephew once remarked that what was th need for learning multiplication tables when it can be so easily done on a computer or calculator. And my niece had once asked that how we had passed our time when we were younger if there was no TV.

So the younger generation is not able to conceive a life without television, mobiles or computers. They cannot understand that earlier kids used to walk down to school and that once upon a time parents were…..well parents and not friends to joke with or play with.

Times have indeed changed.

16 thoughts on “Changing times

  1. That was so observant a post, Bhagya. Yes, kids need to get acquainted with things we were familiar with. Sometimes even your generation wouldn’t be aware of certain things that had disappeared by that time.

    the last time my granddaughter had visited us, we were living in a small town and she could see cows coming to the door every day and pups frolicking on the streets, not to speak of many birds that visited the field next to the house. But in cities like Mumbai cattle had disappeared from the streets long ago and so my sons also grew up to see them only when we visited our village! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I remember my father telling the Ramayana and Mahabharata where the vanars drank horlicks and used toothbrushes to brush their teeth! Maybe we should adapt the tales to suit the mobile and internet age! Do it, it will be creative.

    • U r very right mebbe we have to retell our epics the way theis generation can understand it.
      There are so many things that I do not know that My husband often jokes that I am not an original but ‘hybrid’ ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Time has its own developments.Generation by generation it keep on improving.During annual examinations we used to study the whole books & the notebooks where as our kids have to study only one- third of it.Things are also made easily accessible for them.Thus they demand more with less efforts.Time has indeed changed a lot.We have to float accordingly.May the Almighty God take care of them in every way.

  3. Very true,times have changed. Kids grow up today in a highly advanced scientific world. so past would sound like folk tales for them.

  4. Great post Reema! And so true… my daughter does the same things. She is now studying about Stone Age in History and anyone who doesnt have a mobile phone or TV is stone age man. Once I was telling her how we did not have a TV in our house till we were in the Std V and she says,”Oh! Were you living in the STone Age Amma?”

    • Ha ha. I remember once whn amma had told me about her school days, I had been shocked to learn that she too had been to school, and now when I tell about my school days my son refuses to beliec=ve it ๐Ÿ™‚ So life has come a full circle.

  5. I agree with zephyr’s comment the most. When we tell our kids, we have to twist the tales in a way that is easy to relate for them. Or else more than the story, the kids get deviated by asking a load of questions. My son also finds it hard how I must have spent my time during childhood. Come to think of it, if I had not lived through it, it would be hard for me to remember how I had lived without my computer, cellphone and internet :). Times, they are a changing!

    • ๐Ÿ˜€ Sometimes I too feel sad, sometimes long for hose times when the pace of life was slow and we really used to enjoy the small joys of life.

      And then I wonder if its another sign of growing old

Leave a Reply

