Truant!! :)

I know I just disappeared; but we needed the break. The chicken pox had worn us out and we needed the change.

Remember this post? well it was sonny’s fifth birthday this year and the last time when we would be doing his aarathi. All the elders in the family wanted to be a part of the celebration and so we decided to celebrate his birthday in Mangalore. While I flew down in the third week of March to India, hubby followed just before the celebration. And so all the organizing fell onto my shoulders which scared me initially but all went smoothly.

Each successive visit to Mangalore/India surprises me with the escalating costs (and exhibitionism). The previously simple aarathi ceremony had included games for kids (which I think is necessary for kids to be engaged or to be happy whatever you agree with) some years back but now there is an MC too. I met a few MCs but their attitudes (and their price tags) completely disgusted me. I searched for alternatives and then two enthusiastic teens of our family came forward to do the needful and were so innovative and charming that their exuberance charged the event. The end result the invitees had fun!! And the Host was pleased. Which makes my life easier. πŸ˜€

Although I miss family I am glad to be back home. The heat was unbearable this time and with no rains in sight; there is already water shortage in Mangalore.

So right now enjoying the luxury of power, water and……my own bed !!

10 thoughts on “Truant!! :)

  1. Belated birthday wishes.Many happy returns of the day.I am glad it was celebrated with great fun.Glad you are back to your place and can expect to read regualr posts from you.

  2. Yes, absolutely true, Bhagya. Look at the horrible wastage in the name of birthday parties. Cost of living is shooting through the sky. Everything is expensive from the basic fruits, veggies, groceries to just about anything. Yes, it is becoming hotter too, and there has been no rain this far. What do we expect? Climate change is biting us. good to have you back and good to hear that you had a great vacation.

    • Yes life is no longer simple. Surviving is a challenge now. And i worry that if we say that; then what happens to the daily wage worker.
      Showing off is a necessity now and I abhor it
      Fully charged now to blog more πŸ˜‰

  3. Belated Birthday wishes to the little one πŸ˜€
    I am glad everything went well and you all had a wonderful vacation. I agree with you on the prices shooting up and the show off in India is at it’s unbelievable high 😦
    As far summers, it’s scorching heat indeed!

Leave a Reply

