Lies, lies and more lies

I finish preparing lunch and hurry to set the table. Apart from my ‘professional’ work I knew I had the job of convincing.

When I had opened the fridge to see what I could cook that day, i had found only bitter gourd. Looking out I saw a blazing sun. Not wanting to go out to buy vegetables, I made a curry of bitter-gourd.

My sister-in law (sil) came down to eat, saw what was cooked and made a face.Β  But I was ready.

Me: ‘Don’t make a face eat it’

She- ‘Eww’

Me- ‘I read that Kareena drinks a glass of bitter-gourd juice everyday. And that is the secret of her glowing skin’

So saying I leave the place.

Son is busy watching some cartoon. I ask him to have lunch.

He-‘What have you made today’ and then when I tell him, he makes a face too.

Me-‘Popeye likes it’

He-‘Popeye likes spinach’

Me-(hurriedly thinks of alternates)- ‘Sorry Spiderman eats it, thats how he can spin huge webs’

He-‘Who said so?’

Me: ‘read it somewhere’

He : “where did you read?’

Me:Β  ( in a loud voice):’Now are you interrogating me? Am I supposed to answer you?

 

Hubby comes and sits for the meal a bit late. And sees that there is only a bit left of the bitter-gourd curry. Now being a fan of bitter-gourd, he is disappointed.

Hubby: Only this much?

Me: Yes everyone liked it so much, eat it, it has come out well today.

* fictitious

38 thoughts on “Lies, lies and more lies

  1. lol!!!! These days I am making my sonny boy finish the milk with the same spider man story πŸ˜‰
    BTW I hate bitter gourd and no story can make me like it πŸ˜€
    Though loved this funny take πŸ™‚

  2. hehe very funny. But only my hubby and I relish bitter gourd at home. My kids will not touch it even if I promised heaven to them :). Besides, I love bharwa karela so much that I don’t mind that only both of us are eating :). But yes, the tales we have to spin to get kids to eat.

  3. Hahaha! Different people, different reactions. Loved the way you presented this simple homily. Bitter gourd used to be my anathema. Thanks to Granny, I am now quite a fan. πŸ˜€

  4. Bhagyashree,

    Had a good laugh while reading this. I love to have what Rachna said BHARWAA KARELAA or diced and fried. And a lie told for someone’s betterment is no lie. Have you read Mr Know All, a short story by, if I am not mistaken, Somerset Maugham?

    Take care

    • No I have not read that book Uncle. Will try to grab a copy but then I read very less nowadays
      Bharwaa karela are my favorite, if someone else makes it πŸ˜›

  5. You make even a bitter guard post a smiling subject.How imaginative and quick you are to reel out names Kareena,Popeyes and Spider man but your son is not impressed.You made us all laugh with this short post written in your inimitable style

  6. and the moral of the story is “if you are convincing enough in arguments then people are going to obey you”….Lols…..

    BTW i liked the end part of it….”Only this much?…”

  7. πŸ™‚ Enjoy ur stories as always, Reema. πŸ™‚
    First I thought, Poor hubby dear.. then I thought, “No, poor kid and sis-in-law. πŸ˜› I mean, they had to eat what they did not like.. and that takes a BIGG effort, especially if it is bitter gourd.

Leave a Reply

