Practice, it is…………..

I call  my father on his mobile, he picks it up and speaks about a minute and then says ‘ I don’t know what else to speak’ and then passes the phone to mother. And then for the next minutes when me and amma are speaking, he will be prodding her from behind.

As far as I can remember, papa loves to sing. But the words of any song, he can never remember. ‘I can’t memorize’, is his general complaint. I can understand, I can’t do either. In school I used to enjoy history but failed miserably to remember the dates.

But now at this advanced age, he is having trouble in concentrating. Like he will be reading something and yet he will not know what he was reading. Why, because though he was reading, his mind was somewhere far away. But then mind is like that, it gallops away like a horse.

Standing on the battlefield of Kurukshetra Arjuna says:

cancalam hi manah krsna
pramathi balavad drdham
tasyaham nigraham manye
vayor iva su-duskaram

For the mind is restless, turbulent, obstinate and very strong, O Krsna, and to subdue it is, it seems to me, more difficult than controlling the wind.

Imagine standing in front of the Lord and yet not able to keep the mind steady. But then it happens isn’t it. We try to do things and are not able to do because we are distracted, we begin writing a great post which does not happen so great just because we were not able to concentrate etc.

And what does Krishna reply to Arjuna?

asamsayam maha-baho
mano durnigraham calam
abhyasena tu kaunteya
vairagyena ca grhyate

O mighty-armed son of Kunti, it is undoubtedly very difficult to curb the restless mind, but it is possible by constant practice and by detachment.

Abhyasena-by practice, you can control the mind. Practice is the key. Keep your goals in mind and work towards it. If you get distracted, refocus, rework.

For people like me in devotional path we are asked ot be always in devotional service, so that we stay on path. The others can follow suit. Be alert. If the mind strays, bring it back on path. If a singer is not able to sing a particular raga, what does she do? Practice isn’t it? So practice it is….

But can I say that to papa? I don’t think I can. He may just stare at me and say’ So now, you will teach me, what to do?’ 😛

Shloka translation: Asitis.com (H.D.G. Srila Prabhupada)

23 thoughts on “Practice, it is…………..

  1. I too cannot concentrate at all. I have to literaly bring my mind to the subject I am writiing or reading, most of the times. While reciting vishnu sahasranaama, my mind thinks about something else all the time. I feel very bad though. My son advises me how to concentrate on things, but no use!

    • It happens to all of us and the process of control should start as soon as you realise that u do not have control. encourage the mind when it stays on the subject, chastize when it does not.

  2. My mind can be compared to the unsteadiness of an intoxicated monkey,stung by a scorpion,eaten ginger and possesed by ghost galloping from one branch to another.Still I battle to restore some calm!!

  3. one can’t control mind with practice like said in gita.we can have control on our senses only when we keep our very human nature intact.when am writing a blog post or something,i don’t feel my body and sometimes i can’t recognize myself in mirror coz am made of more soul than body.(hehehe don’t think am gajini and i don’t have short term memory loss)

    one can practice how to cook but the natural instinct of human can’t be practiced,it comes from the way you have led life.

    there’s nothing wrong in educating older people like mom and dad.my mom studied only till 5th grade,i taught her lot of things from my school days which includes next generation behavior,psychology,science and philosophy.today she is better informed than many educated girls.

    i don’t belong to theist or atheist group and i tell people to teach mahabharat and bhagavad gita as bed time stories to kids,when they grow up,they will realize to what extent these scriptures are real.when i was kid,my dad used to translate mahabharat from sanskrit to telugu to tell bedtime stories.if you read gita after becoming old,you will never realize truth coz truth is beyond bhagavad gita.

    • Well that was a long comment. Whether you follow the Gita or not is your personal choice.
      And no mind can not be controlled, it is its habit to be galloping but we have to engage it constructively

  4. Only if the self wishes mind can be controlled.Not an easy task. Mind can be compared to waves I think . thoughts coming one after the other..never ending..

  5. I have tried controlling & detaching myself from the worthless thoughts.Detachment is possible but it messes up with your life.From my experience practice does make it possible to control the mind.

  6. It happen with time and even I face it..forgetting somethg simple..guess with the stressed life we living. perhaps u shd gently remind ‘papa’

    • Yes true.
      But the process of controlling the mind should take place right from when one is young. At a later stage it is not possible. Because by then the mind has learned to be a freebird

  7. I have very hard time focusing on things. My son too..for that now, they label terms as ADD, ADHD etc etc and give medicines to solve the problem.Yes, practice makes a man perfect.

Leave a Reply

