Silent conversation

We were moving out of the mall when suddenly someone pulled my dupatta.

I turned angrily. It was a woman in a hijab, with only her eyes visible. She raised a hand to ask for alms.

I stared still angry at her.

I looked at her eyes, they were watery and she seemed to say,  ‘I am hungry’

A wealthy country and yet a woman in her hijab  has to beg. For satisfying  hunger or loneliness, who knew?

A hundred questions and no hope of any answers.

I hand over some fils and head out with a heavy heart.

___________________________________________

In response to Everyday Gyaan’s prompt Silent conversation/s

20 thoughts on “Silent conversation

  1. Showing compassion earns blessings. You did the right thing. You described it well – I could see the tears in her eyes.
    Dropping by from 100 Words

Leave a Reply

