I believe …….(I)

image source:google images

As he puffed on his cigarette, I stared at him. The smoke made various shapes and while he enjoyed those shapes, I could see him wasting his life.

Yes wasting one’s life. Boozing, smoking may give joy for seconds and then you will be back to where you stood before.

Many years ago I had some wine. Don’t know why I had it but I thought it stylish. And then I had it once more. And after that I didn’t attempt again. You may ask why. I felt that anything which misleads us is not fit for consumption. I mean the high that a quarter glass of wine gave me was temporary. Would it remove my fears, inadequacies? Would it make me (permanently) bold? NO

The problems of life cannot be removed by puffing on a cigarette or guzzling alcohol. It just makes you dependent. You may be in an important project. One on which your career depends. And you may go and smoke a bit, but will it make you a champion. It may give you a temporary relief and that’s it.

Situations need to be worked upon. Joys have to be sustained, problems have to be solved.

The problems of life are only birth, death, old age and misery. There is no escape from these four, the rest can be resolved.

12 thoughts on “I believe …….(I)

  1. What starts initially out of curiosity turns into an entrenched habit by peer pressure/foolishness that is near impossible to shake off.The joy or calm it gives is counterfeit.as you have rightly pointed out

  2. “Situations need to be worked upon. Joys have to be sustained, problems have to be solved.

    The problems of life are only birth, death, old age and misery. There is no escape from these four, the rest can be resolved.”

    Very well said. 🙂 Shortcuts don’t take you anywhere.

  3. I agree with u Reema they not only waste their lives but the people around them who also get the smoke from their smoking.

  4. Most of the smokers start smoking because of their friends in school or college, just to blend with them. Sensible children quit but children who wants to show off, continue and then regret later. You need a very strong mind to quit this dirty habit later, boozing too.

    Very nicely explained post.

Leave a Reply

